Introduction to Service Mesh and Istio

Wednesday 8 July, 2020

17:00 CEST / 16:00 BST / 11:00 EDT

This event is remote

In this two-hour free taster workshop, you will learn the basics of service mesh and how to start with Istio on Kubernetes. We’ll explain why the features of Kubernetes are not enough, and how Istio makes the lives of developers of microservices and Kubernetes operators easier. Then, we’ll dive into Istio, and explore several most common use cases.

Introduction_Service_Mesh_and_Istio_lp

Key Takeaways

  • Understanding of the service mesh basics and how Istio works
  • How to get started with Istio and integrate it with Kubernetes
  • The most common use cases for Istio

Who should attend?

  • Software developers,
  • DevOps engineers, and
  • Application Architects who have heard about Istio and want to learn why and how to use it.

You will need

  • No prior knowledge of Istio
  • Experience using Kubernetes to run containerised applications
  • Basic understanding of networking (TCP/UDP/HTTP)
  • Basic knowledge of Cloud Native concepts, software development and Linux

Meet your trainer

dawidDawid Ziolkowski is a Cloud Native engineer at Container Solutions with more than nine years of DevOps/system engineer experience in designing networks, building clusters, writing automation, and improving CI/CD pipelines. Besides CNE work, he focuses on machine learning, IoT, and fullstack development. He’s also a  photographer, automotive fan, and addicted to reading books.

Share